Skip to main content

Players from nine schools have been rewarded for their performances at Confraternity Carnival with selection in the 2022 Queensland Independent Secondary Schools Rugby League honorary representative team.

Among them was Marymount College, Burleigh Waters centre Phillip Coates who followed his brother Xavier into the team.

Xavier was selected in the 2018 QISSRL team following his performances for Marymount College. Exactly 12 months later, he made his NRL debut for the Broncos before earning State of Origin selection.

The QISSRL teams across the years have included a host of players who would go on to elite careers including Wendell Sailor, Johnathan Thurston, Matt Bowen, Corey Oates, Shannon Hegarty, Rhys Wesser, Scott Prince and Dane Carlaw.

The 2022 Confraternity Shield champions Ignatius Park College, Townsville and runners-up St Patrick’s College, Mackay each provided four players to the QISSRL team including player of the carnival Jamal Shibasaki.

But this carnival was about the distribution of talent across the state, reflected in the fact that each of the eight schools in Confraternity Shield quarter-finals were from different cities.

The likes of halfback Mitch Rogers (Padua College, Kedron), Lachlan Stuart (St Peter Claver College, Riverview) and backrower Lachlan Magill (St Augustine’s College, Cairns) impressed the selection panel that covered all games across the week in Mackay.

The QISSRL selectors are present at all matches, handing out player-of-the-match awards and making notes on all players across the three divisions.

Matthew Paul (St Patrick’s College, Mackay) was named honorary coach of the QISSRL team. He was a member of the representative team when Confraternity Carnival was last played in Mackay in 1996.

David Mills (St Edmund’s College, Ipswich) was named honorary manager of the QISSRL team.

2022 QISSRL Representative team

1. Matthew Hill (St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon)

2. Teke Mene (Ignatius Park College, Townsville)

3. Jesuah Winni (The Cathedral College, Rockhampton)

4. Kai Simon (St Patrick’s College, Mackay)

5. Phillip Coates (Marymount College, Burleigh Waters)

6. Jaxon Purdue (St Patrick’s College, Mackay)

7. Lachlan Stuart (St Peter Claver College, Riverview)

8. Henry Teatau (Ignatius Park College, Townsville)

9. Mitch Rogers (Padua College, Kedron)

10. Tevita Penaia (St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon)

11. Jett Day (St Brendan’s College, Yeppoon)

12. Lachlan Magill (St Augustine’s College, Cairns)

13. Jamal Shibasaki (Ignatius Park College, Townsville)

14. Elijah Joe (Ignatius Park College, Townsville)

15. Henry Thorpe (St Patrick’s College, Mackay)

16. Xavier Kerrisk (St Patrick’s College, Mackay)

17. Linden Bichel (Aquinas College, Ashmore)

Honorary coach: Matthew Paul (St Patrick’s College, Mackay)

Honorary manager: David Mills (St Edmund’s College, Ipswich)

Leave a Reply