Skip to main content

 A new champion will be crowned for the girls’ Confraternity Shield after an excited St Patrick’s College, Mackay walked a tightrope into Thursday’s rugby league decider in Brisbane. 

Last year, St Patrick’s were cheered on by a huge home crowd in their loss to Marymount College, Burleigh Waters in the historic first girls’ Confraternity Shield final. 

Today, they had a smaller crowd at St Laurence’s College’s playing fields at Runcorn but the players let out an almighty roar when they scored the last try of their 16-0 win over Marymount College. 

St Patrick’s will meet The Cathedral College in Thursday’s final after they won a thrilling all-Rockhampton semi-final with Emmaus College. 

The Cathedral College halfback Caitlin Tanner scored the decisive try in the 25th minute and the 8-6 scoreline held for the final 15 minutes of a tense match in fading light. 

Thursday’s final promises to be a close match with both teams unbeaten across the first two days of the tournament and each boasting a win over the talented Marymount College. 

St Patrick’s haven’t claimed a Confraternity Shield since 2003 when the boys’ team last won the major prize. 

Twelve teams are contesting the girls’ competition at Confraternity Carnival, which is run by Queensland Independent Secondary Schools Rugby League featuring Catholic and Independent Schools from across the state. 

The girls’ competition features the second-tier Confraternity Trophy for the first time this year. 

St Margaret Mary’s College, Townsville and St Joseph’s College, Toowoomba will play for the Trophy in Thursday’s final after they won their semi-finals this afternoon. 

St Joseph’s College defeated Shalom College, Bundaberg 14-4 while St Margaret Mary’s College overcame St Ursula’s College, Yeppoon 18-16 with a try to hooker Logan Roncato in the final minutes. 

Girls’ Day 2 results 

Pool A 

The Cathedral College, Rockhampton 26 d Southern Cross Catholic College, Townsville 0 

Marymount College, Burleigh Waters 36 d Mt Maria College, Mitchelton 0 

Pool B 

St Patrick’s College, Mackay 38 d Emmaus College, Jimboomba 0 

Shalom College, Bundaberg 10 d St Joseph’s College, Toowoomba 8 

Pool C 

Emmaus College, Rockhampton 24 d Trinity College, Beenleigh 8 

St Ursula’s College, Yeppoon 12 drew with St Margaret Mary’s College, Townsville 12 

Confraternity Shield semi-finals 

St Patrick’s College, Mackay 16 d Marymount College, Burleigh Waters 0 

The Cathedral College, Rockhampton 8 d Emmaus College, Rockhampton 

Confraternity Trophy semi-finals 

St Joseph’s College, Toowoomba 14 d Shalom College, Bundaberg 4 

St Margaret Mary’s College, Townsville 18 d St Ursula’s College, Yeppoon 16 

Positional play-offs 

Mt Maria College, Mitchelton 20 d Emmaus College, Jimboomba 4 

Southern Cross Catholic College, Townsville 18 d Trinity College, Beenleigh 6 

Leave a Reply